The Graveyard Book By Neil Gaiman

   This was the first Neil Gaiman book I read thanks to an Amazon Daily Kindle Deal last December. It made me find out more about Neil Gaiman and that I had actually seen two of the films of his books – Stardust and Coraline – which I both enjoyed. And this novel was better than the films I had seen! I love his macabre style and the bizarreness that seemed so ‘normal’ in ‘The Graveyard Book’.

I have read in a few places that ‘The Graveyard Book’ was heavily influenced by Richard Kipling’s ‘The Jungle Book’ or other comparing it to that – often saying ‘The Jungle Book with ghosts and ghouls’. I would say that the idea of a boy growing up with those different from himself is the main comparison. I don’t want to say more about this as I haven’t investigated it further.

Nobody Owens (‘Bod) is brought up by the ghosts of the Graveyard, though he is living, he is protected by them and can see both the world of the dead and the world of the living. This confusing station means he is given a guardian – Silas – a peculiar character who is not dead, yet not wholly alive. Silas is a mysterious character, drifting in and our, but around for pivotal points of ‘Bods life.

‘Bods family are killed by yet another mysterious character – Jack – and as ‘Bod grows older is protection from within the graveyard weakens. Why was his family killed? What does Silas know about the murderous Jack? What danger lurks out in the world of the living that ‘Bod has been protected from? Can Silas help ‘Bod? Or must ‘Bod work things out for himself?

A beautiful macabre novel for children, young adults and adults alike. A book with ghosts and ghouls. Murder. Mystery. Loneliness. Friendship. Adventure and much much more!

Don’t be put of because this is described as a Children’s book! Trust me you will enjoy it. I also think it was a good starting book for me in my introduction to Neil Gaiman. As I have also read his ‘Neverwhere’ which was very peculiar and different indeed! Neil Gaiman is a talented writer and I urge anyone to read his books. Including ‘The Graveyard Books’ as a must!

One thing I would like to see is a book about Silas. About his journey’s, his past. Silas was the most layered character in the book and I think I would like to see more of him – if there is more of him let me know!

Overall 4.75 out of 5

Leave a Reply

