City of Fallen Angels By Cassandra Clare

Title: City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

First Published: 5th April 2011


The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and – most importantly of all – she can finally call Jace her boyfriend. But nothing comes without a price. Someone is murdering the Shadowhunters who used to be in Valentine’s Circle, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. And when Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace. (From, 15th April 2013)

I love, love, love this series. I was slightly annoyed by the ending of City of Glass, which I mentioned in the review I did of City of Glass not that long ago!

So things are supposed to have calmed down, Clary and Jace are together, Magnus and Alex are off traveling, Luke and Clary’s mum are about to get married….but no things are not going to stay like that. Simon’s mum finds his stash of blood and cannot stand the sight of her son. Jace is pulling away from Clary due to terrifying nightmares. Shadowhunters are being killed. The Vampire Camile has returned to New York and wants Simon…as you can see things are far from calm.

I enjoyed City of Fallen Angels more than I did City of Glass, but it is a new story in a sense, now that valentine is gone. We here from a lot of characters perspectives in this novel, more so than before, where we typically heard Clary’s view point. Simon plays a more integral part and it is refreshing to see him stand by himself.

I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to get into City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) and the last in The Mortal Instruments Series.

These books make you sit and read and read, and leaving you wanting more. I am so glad I have The Infernal Devices to get into after this! The Infernal Devices is the Prequel series to The Mortal Instruments.

I have said it before and I will say it again – go out and buy these books.

4.5 out of 5!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s