Fever By Lauren DeStefano

Title: Fever (The Chemical Garden Trilogy #2)

Author: Lauren DeStefano

Publisher: Harper Voyager

First Published: 2012

Blurb:

Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but danger is never far behind.

Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago – surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous – and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion…by any means necessary. (From Goodreads, 29th May 2013)

Review:

I was so happy when I saw Fever in my local library, as I really enjoyed Wither (The Chemical Garden Trilogy #1) – my review is here.

So when I started Fever my expectations were high, and I feel that Fever is not a patch on Wither. It is the usual second in a series problem. But that said, the last half of the book was very exciting and I am looking forward to getting my hands on Sever (The Chemical Garden Trilogy #3).

In Fever we are following Rhine and Gabriel after their escape from the mansion, but soon they stumble upon more trouble and are trapped yet again. Trapped in a carnival that is more of a brothel have they escaped just to end up somewhere worse? Is it worse?

I did not like this part of the novel, it just felt like it rushed to have something exciting happening right after they escaped the mansion. I was bored with it to be honest. But I kept going and I am glad I did. So my advice to anyone else who feels the same – just keep going. We soon begin to love the characters we loved in the first book and want to know what will happen to them. Will they live past 20 (Rhine) or 25 (Gabriel)? Will an antidote become available? Will Rhine’s father-in-law find them? Will Rhine find her brother?

When  the novel begins to refocus on these questions it becomes much more interesting and, as I have said, has made me hungry for the third and final book in this trilogy.

This is a Dystopian series that I enjoy but feel this book had a lot of unneeded plots. However, maybe reading the third book will give reasoning behind these plots…I will just have to wait and see!

3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

