Fatal Act By Leigh Russell

Title: Fatal Act (A Geraldine Steel Mystery)

Author: Leigh Russell

Publication Date: 19th November 2013

Publisher: No Exit Press

Blurb:

A glamorous young TV soap star dies in a car crash. Returning for her sixth case, Detective Inspector Geraldine Steel is baffled as the driver of the second vehicle miraculously survives – and vanishes. Another young actress is murdered and, once again, the killer mysteriously disappears. Geraldine unwittingly risks her sergeant’s life in their struggle to track down a serial killer who leaves no clues. (From amazon.co.uk, 12th May 2014)

Review:

This is the second Leigh Russell book I have read, and the second Geraldine Steel Mystery I have read. Fatal Act is the 6th Geraldine Steel Mystery that has been released, with Stop Dead being the 5th Geraldine Steel Mystery, and to see my review of Stop Dead click here!

I enjoyed Fatal Act, however, it is not the most suspense driven mystery I have read. I have the same criticism as I did with Stop Dead is that it is slightly too methodical for me, Geraldine, the main protagonist does not feel truly human for me. However, this criticism is what makes Leigh Russell’s writing for me average rather than astounding. The plots and twists and turns are excellent and kept me pondering what will happen, who-did-it, and therefore, keep you reading.

Personally, for me these are nice reads in between more serious or heavy going novels. Also I can imagine them being good for holidays, for those of us who are not so fond of the romantic chick-lit holiday reads.

Fatal Act uses the complexities of the acting industry, the competitiveness, the complicit nature, and the truly murderess nature that jealousy can cause. An interesting theme, which keeps you guessing at all turns.

3.5 out of 5.

 

Leave a Reply

